Does Archive Mean Delete?

How do I clean out my Gmail archive?

The Basics: Deleting Emails in GmailSelect “All”Then click “Select all XXXX conversations in Search results“Delete..

How do I change Archive to delete?

See the archive icon when you view messages. Archive from interactive notifications (Android 4.1+)….To delete instead of archive, choose Show delete only.In the. Gmail app, touch the Menu icon, then Settings.Select General settings.Check Swipe to archive or Swipe to delete.

What happens to archived text messages?

Archive text conversations, calls or voicemail messages You can hide a conversation from your inbox without deleting it. If someone replies to a conversation that you’ve archived, the messages will appear again in your inbox.

What is the point of archiving emails?

The point of archiving is to give you a central location to store mails that you no longer need direct access to. It also ensures your inbox is kept clean and attachments and other files are kept safe.

Are emails ever really deleted?

Your first attempt at deleting an email message rarely actually deletes it. Most email programs, such as Gmail, Yahoo or Outlook, simply move the deleted email to a trash folder that permanently erases the email only after a certain length of time.

What is the difference between archive and delete?

Whether you delete or archive an email message, it disappears from your inbox. A deleted message goes into the trash folder, whereas an archived message is defaulted to the Archive folder or “All Mail” on Gmail / Google Apps. … Your Archive folder is never automatically emptied.

How long are archived emails kept?

Choose your archive or delete settings Deleted messages are permanently removed from the Trash after 30 days.

Why do my archived emails disappear?

The AutoArchive feature in Outlook automatically sends old messages to the Archive folder, which can make it seem like those messages have disappeared to the unsuspecting user. … This will keep your emails from being archived unexpectedly or too often.

How do I retrieve archived emails?

Finding archived emails via mobile apps If you are using the Gmail mobile app on your iOS or Android device, you can also access archived content easily. As on the web, you can use the search bar displayed above your mail to initiate a search; it will include archived content.

Do archived messages get deleted?

If you delete a label you remove that “view”, but the messages are still in All Mail. When you Archive a message, the only thing that does is remove the Inbox label from the message. … You will have to go through All Mail manually looking for messages you no longer need and delete them.

What happens when you archive a conversation?

Archiving a conversation hides it from your inbox until the next time you chat with that person, while deleting a conversation permanently removes the message history from your inbox. To archive a conversation: Desktop App: To the left, right click on the conversation you’d like to archive.

Where do archived emails go?

If you want to clean up your inbox without deleting your emails, you can archive or mute them. Your emails are moved to a label called “All Mail.” When you archive a message: The message will come back to your inbox when someone replies to it.

Why is archiving important?

Why is Archiving So Important? Archiving the right data can not only save your business money, but also add value to your business. … Archiving also reduces the volume of data on primary storage that needs to be backed up. This improves backup and restore performance while lowering secondary storage costs.

Should you delete or archive emails?

By default, most people delete rather than archive their email. If you ask someone why they delete email, they will most likely tell you that they delete them because they want to keep their email organized and reduce mailbox clutter. While this is a valid reason for deleting emails, it’s rarely the real reason.

Can archived emails be deleted?

The Archive action removes the message from view in the inbox and puts it in the All Mail area, in case you ever need it again. You can find archived messages by using Gmail’s search function. … The Delete action moves the selected message to the Trash area, where it stays for 30 days before it is permanently deleted.

Do archived photos get deleted?

Archived photos will stay in your albums and search results, but won’t appear in your main Photos tab. It’s a handy way to keep your main stream clutter-free and hide extra shots that you don’t want to delete completely.

Do archived messages take up space?

2 Answers. Yes, messages that are archived count towards your storage quota. … The only difference is that messages in the spam and trash will probably be permanently deleted within 30 days, which automatically frees up space in your account.